Play the ukulele....

sandro

Reaction score
Uhmm that's a difficult subject....I actually don't know where to start...I play the ukulele for about 1 year and I love playing it like the first day. But there's a big problem: I think I mostly play the same songs if I find time for playing...I just don't know how I should go on with practise. I have no idea how to start with a new song. That sound's if I would be not interessted in playing uke, but that's wrong. I think I stand on one point since a few weeks and I don't know how to go on.... I hope some of you were in the same situation... And I think Aldrine knows how to go on :) and he could give me some great tips.

Sandro :)

This is a very common problem with musicians over time. I'm also new with the Uke, but I've gone through this on guitar many times over the years. It usually happens to me about once or twice a year for a few weeks to sometimes even months at a time.

Some things I've tried to get out of these slumps are:

1. Let go: stop playing for a couple weeks or even more. Find something else to occupy your time that maybe you haven't done before. I tried diving into listening/exploring some music that I haven't heard before, immersing in it a bit or skipping around a bunch of artists. I've also tried reading a bunch of new books. Sometimes either of these will work surprisingly - I'll pick up the guitar after a few weeks off and after a couple hours find some new refreshing things I hadn't thought of before. Sometimes directly influenced from the new stuff I explored during the hiatus, and sometimes just from forgetting about playing for a while.