PDA

View Full Version : Beginner "eff-up" with strings - help much appreciated

Soetnoewzen
10-02-2009, 07:36 AM
Hello everyone! :'D

I'm a very beginner (played a mere two days, going great though), so I decided to switch my old strings for some new Aquila strings, however...

I did it wrong. I put the "1st" string on the bottom, which apparently was the 4th string, G, and not the A.

So, I've pulled them off (will do right now, actually) and was thinking if they're still usable? :(

baawk. :wallbash:

hoosierhiver
10-02-2009, 07:41 AM
They should be fine.

Soetnoewzen
10-02-2009, 07:41 AM
Or what the deuce, I'm not even sure anymore after reading the aquila-thing that followed.

Which string is which, if I strum with my left (if it even matters)?

Is it gcea from top to bottom, or bottom to top? :wallbash:
And "FIRST STRING", is that the top or bottom? G or A? Gah.

edit: thanks for quick answer, hoosierhiver. :)

RevWill
10-02-2009, 07:43 AM
Let's keep the language family-friendly, kay?

Yes, your strings are still usable. It takes a very long time and lots of stress to ruin the elasticity of uke strings. Truth be known I have made the same mistake and just left it. The G and A strings are so close in gauge (sometimes the same diameter in some brands, aren't they?) that it barely makes a difference. Once they were tuned to pitch I never noticed.

You aren't the first person to make that mistake and use the same strings. You won't be the last, either. Don't stress. Uke's supposed to be fun.

haole
10-02-2009, 07:46 AM
If you strum with your left hand, you're playing the uke lefty. So the G string is closest to you, and the A string is closest to the floor.

I've made that mistake with Aquilas before, and it actually didn't matter too much. The G and A are really similar. In fact, some manufacturers use the same gauge for the G and the A (there's just a little more tension when you tune it up to A).

Soetnoewzen
10-02-2009, 08:00 AM