humidify or not?

ukemonster

Reaction score
Hi new uke friends

i have quick question about humidifiers.

Do i realy need one? for my beat up mahalo in it's soft case?
or do i only need one when i get a sweet uke and a hard case?

I have seen the uke minutes on how to make a pez one, just wondering if i should make one or not.

Cheers

For your mahalo you probably don't need a humidifier. They are mainly used for instruments made of solid wood, yours is laminite so its not really necessary, but by all means if you want to go ahead it won't hurt the uke either ;)

always good to have one anyways.

just realized u r from australia? which part by the way? and Australia gets really hot, especially now since its starting to warm up. I would recommend one.

Last edited:
Just from personal experience with other instruments (I'm new to Uke), I'd say the humidification thing is overrated. I live in upstate NY where summers can be very humid and winters in a heated house are desert-dry. I have a Guild guitar that I've owned since the 60's, a nice wood mandolin, a decent old violin and lots of other wooden instruments that I've never humidified and have NEVER had a single crack or ungluing problem. That's my experience-- your results may vary.

always good to have one anyways.

just realized u r from australia? which part by the way? and Australia gets really hot, especially now since its starting to warm up. I would recommend one.

if your in sydney wouldnt you be needing a de-humidifer, im moving back to wollongong from West aus, here the humidity sits at 55-60% all year but when i was in wollongong humidity was really high, what do you use cause i will have my kanilea with me so i gotta know what to use?

For a beat-up Mahalo? No, you don't really need it. Except in the most extreme cases, humidification is only needed with solid wood instruments.