Crash course in tonewood identification

etkre

Reaction score
Hey guys, tomorrow I will attempt to snag some tonewood from a large selection of seasoned lumber. The owner doesn't know what types of wood she has and is selling it as firewood, so I need a crash course in identifying lumber. Hopefully I'll be able to find some tonewood to quarter saw and bookmatch (she says there's some pretty large unsplit sections).

Anyone have some good links to help me identify wood felled in Southeastern Ohio?

Thanks. You guys rock.

I am a complete noob but if it was me. I would just look for quartersawn pieces that look cool.

You can only really identify its 'cut' and follow some basic rules. Ron-S posted some good graphics on this. Pretty much any wood will work except I wouldn't go for butternut, or woods that are dense. A real simple test is to 'bounce' the wood by dropping it end first on a hard surface - if it rings like a bell then it'll do; a dull thud would disuade me from choosing it... I made some oAmerican red oak and spalted Adirondack spruce ladder braced guitars back in the late 90's. Sounded just like those old Lakeside guitars. Now my lecturer at college told me that oak wasn't good for guitar making: those guitars proved him very, very wrong. I have an oak and larch concert build in the pipeline so I'd say just try it, except butternut....