Help with a D chord

JohnBoy

Reaction score
As you know, I am a newbie. I love playing my ukulele but I am have a devil of a time with one of the most simple cords. It is a D chord. I can't seem to get three fingers to fit on three strings that are all on the same fret. What is the best way to play that simple chord?

I have been struggling with that little bugger as well. What I came up with is to bar the 3rd and 4th string with my index finger and to fret the 2nd string with my middle. Hope that makes sense. I'll try to post a pic later if it doesn't.

You can bar with one finger, but I was inconsistent in getting my finger clear of the first string so it can ring free.

E chord is even worse. That one I do have to bar the 2-4 strings with my middle finger and fret 1 string with my index.

I have been struggling with that little bugger as well. What I came up with is to bar the 3rd and 4th string with my index finger and to fret the 2nd string with my middle. Hope that makes sense. I'll try to post a pic later if it doesn't.

You can bar with one finger, but I was inconsistent in getting my finger clear of the first string so it can ring free.

E chord is even worse. That one I do have to bar the 2-4 strings with my middle finger and fret 1 string with my index.

Depending on the song you can do 1010 and cheat in the beginning and it will sound fine. I cannot get three fingers in there on a soprano and have to bar the three strings, on a concert or tenor I always bar the top two and then single the third.

You can also bar the entire 2nd fret and do a forth 5th, 2225 depending on the song.

D is the 2nd fret top 3 strings yea?

I use my middle finger and bar the 1st 3 strings and its fine with me... its weird - i can play that one good but easy ones i find more difficult..

..interesting

D is the 2nd fret top 3 strings yea?