Should i be strumming with my index finger?

econosaurus

Reaction score
I've been strumming with all 4 of my fingers kind of curved, but every video i see uses just the index finger and/or thumb. Should i try to train myself to change? Thanks

My personal opinion is that, while there's nothing wrong with the thumb strum, you probably would be well-served by working on your index finger strum. Mostly because that opens the doors to all sorts of fun techniques like "chunking".
JJ

Here ya go

I personally strum with mah thumb, it gives a more blended sound than when I index-strummed. Which is a good thing for my cheap mahalo, you can't hear the intonation as much! :p

It's preferable to use your index finger and I think it gives a cleaner tone. It does take practice to get used to it. As mentioned previously, you can also use your thumb. No hard or fast rule there. Practice using your index finger till you're comfortable with it.

Noob here so good potential for the blind leading the blind ... but I think it just depends on the sound you want to create. Using the thumb creates a distinctly different sound than your other opposing fingers could make. Also try finger plucking all the strings at the same time making its own interesting sound. You could also roll all your fingers index to pinky along the strings and muting the strings with your palm to create a sort of flamenco ish sound.

Noob here so good potential for the blind leading the blind ... but I think it just depends on the sound you want to create.

You hit the nail on the head.

One of the joys of making music is experimenting to find sounds you like.

--Mark

I just started using my index finger to strum, and I'm getting a much cleaner sound. Before that I'd settled on curling my fingers under and using all four of them to get a muddy skiffle sound. It's good to learn different techniques so that you have options.