Juggling and Ukulele

johncaudrey

Reaction score
I am a professional juggler/unicyclist that plays the ukulele as a hobby.

I bought 4 cheap ukes a year or so back to have a go at, both juggling 3 ukuleles tuned so as to play a simple tune and also to practice balancing one on my chin/nose whilst singing and playing another, intending to add these skills to my show. I soon decided that actually just playing the ukulele was more rewarding and it would also be nice to have a hobby which is not my job as well.

I have noticed recently at juggling conventions in the UK that ukuleles are becoming very popular (not for juggling with) and wonder if there is something perhaps in the learning process that appeals jugglers.
At a juggling convention in Bristol. UK a couple of weeks ago and I counted at least 30 different ukuleles (of varying quality) during the week, with an attendance of around the 400 people mark. There were even a couple of impromtu ukulele workshops happening.

I am interested to know of any other ukulele players who also juggle or even jugglers who play the ukulele. I know there are several people who post on here regularly that do both. I look forward to seeing the results.

John

I've come across David on both Youtube and rec.juggling (juggling equivalent to UU forum).

I like the hulahooping and uke video. She does both well and at the same time!

Hulahoop certainly counts as it has also become very popular with the juggling fraternity especially over the last few years. In fact I heard a comment at the aforementioned juggling convention, that ukulele was the new hulahoop.

I must admit it took me a while to see the attraction in hulahoop and it wasn't until I went to a workshop and spent an hour or so chatting to ladies whilst they girated their hips that I realised what all the fuss was about!