In depth uke lessons

Keonikapila

Reaction score
Aloha everybody, somebody mentioned lessons in another thread and it got me thinking about taking some (again).

Anyone know where to find good in-depth lessons on O'ahu? I'm looking for something that focuses more on theory than on just teaching you how to play songs.

A few years back I was looking into the Troy Fernandez school (is he still teaching btw?). I was pretty excited about it, since Troy was the reason I started playing the uke. But then, I was talking to my friend's uncle (who had also checked it out) and he told me that it's mostly just Troy teaching you how he plays his songs...which is great, since he's my uke idol (haha), but its not really what I'm looking for. :(

I also looked at the Sakuma school, but after seeing some of the material (from my friend's girlfriend) it looked like they pretty much just teach songs...again, not what I'm looking for

I talked briefly with Herb Jr at a workshop, and it sounded his school would be a good way to go, but (at the time anyway) he wasn't taking any more students (he and Daniel Ho had just released their second CD and the first book)...anybody have any idea if he's taking students again?

On a whim, at the beggining of this semester I enrolled in Leeward Community College's uke class (figuring that it would be a more "academic" approach) but I cancelled that as soon as I bought the book because it looked way to basic for me (there were songs like "On Top of Old Smoky")...again, definitely not what I was looking for :(

I'm kinda worried (and pretty sure) that I'll probably need private lessons to get what I'm looking for, but that gets pretty expensive...any ideas?