Soprano Ukulele in the $150-$250 price range

bliss_street

Reaction score
I'm a beginner ukulele player looking for a soprano ukulele in the $150-$250 price range.

I see that musicguymic on eBay has a KoAlana by Koaloha Solid Koa Soprano with case for $244.95, but I haven't seen it anywhere else.

Does anyone have any experience with this instrument?

And given a choice between that and the Ohana Sopranos (SK-25, SK-35, SK-35G), the Flea, and the Hamano H-100, which would you choose?

Thanks in advance for all your help.

Uke for sale

I have a Pono pss spruce top soprano with case. I just bought but would sell for what I payed. 159.00 you pay shipping. It was a great price when I bought it. About a month ago. Still like new and cheapest Ive found them is 399.00.

Im thinking about spending a little more and getting a Martin to try.
Dan

I'm a beginner ukulele player looking for a soprano ukulele in the $150-$250 price range.

I see that musicguymic on eBay has a KoAlana by Koaloha Solid Koa Soprano with case for $244.95, but I haven't seen it anywhere else.

Does anyone have any experience with this instrument?

And given a choice between that and the Ohana Sopranos (SK-25, SK-35, SK-35G), the Flea, and the Hamano H-100, which would you choose?

Thanks in advance for all your help.

The Ohanas are solid instruments (literally and figuratively!) but I have heard the action on them can be a tad high sometimes...that's something you might want to consider as a beginner. Fleas are the easiest playing ukes I have tried....the action is low, so holding down chords is pretty easy. Plus, they probably have the best intonation of any ukulele in that $200-ish price range. I think they make great starter ukes.

I have never played the Hamano, but I have heard very good things about it. It has a street price of about 275, so it's really in a slightly higher bracket than the Ohanas and Fleas.