PDA

View Full Version : Those blessed amateurs!

Matt Clara
10-16-2009, 02:35 AM
So, last night I fixed my neck to my cigar box body using a single wood screw (I intend to add glue later, but for now I need to figure out bridge placement so I can glue it on before printing a photo on the top). I was very pleased with how well I had lined everything up, and then realized I hadn't left the 1.6mm space for the top. I'm not afraid to admit that a little bit of swearing ensued. Nothing too dramatic--I am an amateur, and this definitely qualifies as an amateur mistake. This morning before work I redid it, this time with three screws, 'cause one offset one just didn't look right, and I do intend for it to be opened. Came out right this time, though I need to go back and counter sink the screws so they're flush. I also need to figure out what to do with the now unused hole in the middle. I could fill it with putty, or just cut off one of the remaining screws and screw it in. That neck ain't goin' nowhere, anyway, that's for sure.

cornfedgroove
10-16-2009, 03:10 AM
take some sawdust mixed with glue and fill her up. I try to keep a box full of sawdust from the wood I use for "oopsies"

hoosierhiver
10-16-2009, 03:18 AM
take some sawdust mixed with glue and fill her up. I try to keep a box full of sawdust from the wood I use for "oopsies"

Yup, that's a good one. Works surprisingly well.

ukantor
10-16-2009, 06:12 AM
"take some sawdust mixed with glue and fill her up. I try to keep a box full of sawdust from the wood I use for 'oopsies'."

I can't believe you admitted that..................

Oh, OK then, I do it too, but don't tell anyone.

My first couple of ukes also had three screws to position/hold the neck on. On one of them, I countersank the screws right in, and blanked the heads off with wooden plugs. I used superior brass screws.

Ukantor.

UkeNukem
10-16-2009, 06:49 AM
"I used superior brass screws."