Should I learn another instrument first?

AirCanuck

Reaction score
Hello All,

I am quite new to the forum, but have been reading through it and am discovering what an amazing resource it is.

First things first, I have always been a big fan of Hawaiian music, I have 10-20 albums in my collection (which is pretty decent for a Canadian boy like me). I've always wanted to learn the Ukulele. I recently visited Hawaii again and got to see the K-Town Heroes perform, at that point, I was inspired to the point where I wanted to give it a go myself (just for fun, though!). After watching Aldrine's videos here I couldn't be more inspired.

Here's the problem, I have ZERO music background and consider myself to be a 100% tone-deaf rookie who can't even read music. I love music, have always wanted to play music, but just have never given myself the opportunity. Ukulele is where my heart is as far as learning a musical instrument goes. I'm now beginning to approach 30 and regret not picking up a musical instrument in my formative years.

I know there is a ton of resources here for beginners, but I haven't even convinced myself that I should be even buying an instrument yet!

So...my questions to you are:
Should I start on the Ukulele (instruction will be hard to come by)?
or Should I learn the fundamentals of music first on another instrument?

Really, what's the best way to get my feet wet?

I greatly appreciate it!

Neil

hi neil,
welcome to uu!

Should I start on the Ukulele (instruction will be hard to come by)?

i think you should go right ahead and start on ukulele! i dont think its a big deal that instruction is hard to come by. i for one (and many, many others) have taught myself completely on my own through the use of the internet, almost completely through this site.

or Should I learn the fundamentals of music first on another instrument?