PDA

View Full Version : Best Cheapie Uke

tad
04-22-2008, 07:21 PM
I work at a research Center with a lot of-- and I say this with a high level of respect-- geeks. I find playing the uke eminently relaxing, and conducive to taking your mind off a problem and thinking "outside the box."

So I'm looking at getting a uke I can just leave in the Center, so I can strum on it, and I can encourage my coworkers to do the same...

Think of it as ukulele evangelism.

So I was wondering, what brand/style uke should I get? I'm gonna want to get the cheapest possible ukulele that still can hold a basic tune... Please note, we're talking about something I can keep in the break room, unsupervised. Something that I'm basically donating-- and I'm a poor grad student. Let's say under fifty bucks. Twenty to thirty is great.

Any suggestions? I'm thinking Mahalo...

degracia
04-22-2008, 07:29 PM
Mahalo is alright. My neighbor owned a Mahalo concert which sounded pretty nice. And I know someone over here at UU just bought a concert for $20? That's a steal. Musician's Friend has that Rogue Bari that guting has. Sounds great but we all know its' GUTING. He can make 4 strings and a piece of wood sound like a Pono. :o lol

tad
04-22-2008, 07:44 PM
Mahalo is alright. My neighbor owned a Mahalo concert which sounded pretty nice. And I know someone over here at UU just bought a concert for $20? That's a steal. Musician's Friend has that Rogue Bari that guting has. Sounds great but we all know its' GUTING. He can make 4 strings and a piece of wood sound like a Pono. :o lol

My basic concern is something where they're not making any shortcuts with the tuners-- sound quality isn't that big a deal, I just want something that won't need extreme tuning every time after a song or two.

davoomac
04-22-2008, 08:32 PM

Haha I was about to mention guting's rogue bari from musicians friend. It's going for 30 bucks right? That's probably the next ukulele I'm planning on buying.