PDA

View Full Version : How do i strum

thatguywiththeukulele
10-19-2009, 11:47 AM
Hello all! im new to the ukulele. in fact i just got it today. what are the diffrent strumming techniques and what is the best for beginners

jinny
10-19-2009, 12:06 PM
hah... you might be opening a can of worms for yourself.

I see a world of strumming in your future.

I would check out the video tutorial just as start... Aldrine does a great job of teaching strums... just start with the earliest vids. I think some are sectioned off as beginner tutorials too.

...and maybe try strumming that UU search function for more info when you need it.

Just remember to have fun!

Uncle Rod Higuchi
10-19-2009, 12:15 PM
Hi there, Uncle Rod here, here's a link to a free gift for you in the form of a beginner's instruction booklet.

In my mind strumming is the LAST thing to be concerned with. First work on forming chords by name, then work on changing from chord to chord until you can do so smoothly, in time with the rhythm of a simple melody (Twinkle Little Star), without interrupting your strumming to look at your chord-forming fingers.

Anyway, here it is:

http://www.4shared.com/file/123858410/4f4615dc/Free_Songbook_Master.html

When you can play a simple melody without interrupting yourself or without looking at your hands, you will be ready to work on strumming... in my opinion. If you concern yourself with strumming before that, I believe you will be frustrating your efforts at learning to play a song.

Hey, we're all on your side here at UU. Others will chime in with their helpful suggestions. Welcome to the community.

Keep uke-in',

existence
10-19-2009, 02:59 PM