I'm about to. . .

scottie

Reaction score
Pull the trigger and buy my first ukulele :cool:

I've been a guitarist for over 30 years. . . and ukuleles just look like TOOO much fun. I've been tooling around the web lookin' at YouTube vids and such. . .

. . . so I called up Steve at Acoustic Music Works in Pittsburgh, He told me that he has about 80 ukuleles in stock currently, so this weekend I'm going to go try some out. I need to restrain myself because, as we all know, it's so easy to spend money on great musical instruments. I think I'll likely get a concert as my first one, perhaps a tenor later if I decide I want a little more room to flail, although part of the charm of the thing seems to be flailing on a tiny little thing, it looks so surreally fun. . .

He mentioned Lanakai, He has Collings the UC 1 is concert size :drool: and I've played a bunch of Collings guitars so I know they'll be good but $900.00 seems a bit rich at this stage. . . and some other brands but I stopped him and just said that I guess I'll just have to stop in and bring a lunch or something. :biglaugh:

I'll let yinz know what I buy.

Last edited:
He mentioned Lanakai, He has Collings the UC 1 is concert size :drool: and I've played a bunch of Collings guitars so I know they'll be good but $900.00 seems a bit rich at this stage.
Welcome to UU, scottie!

As a veteran guitarist, I'm sure you know all about the range of quality and prices instruments can cost. ;)

My advice would be to start out on the low end. Since you'll be going there in person and will be able to try them out, go for playability as your #1 priority. Action makes a big difference and that can vary a lot even between the exact same make/model when they're factory produced.

Last edited: