PDA

View Full Version : Some questions (tabs, chords, strategy etc.)

Ukeger
10-21-2009, 07:25 AM
Hey, I am playing the uke for 3 days now and I have some questions. What should i do? Learn all relevant chords for a song and then practice switching the chords while keeping the strumming or should i play tablatures (tabs are the melody of song, am i right?)? I dont know whats more important in the beginning. And which chords are essential? I'm using the chord finder from http://www.sheep-entertainment.nl/ukulele/chordfinder.html, but there are so many.
Would be cool if someone could tell me a good strategy for learning the ukulele.. thanks :)

Rzr
10-21-2009, 07:42 AM
Welcome to UU! I'm no expert but going through the video lessons and uke minutes is helping me. I find myself going back to them, every once and a while, to try and figure out things I don't know and go over things I think I know. Also try going From C - F - G7 back to C over and over again with different simple strums. I hope some of this might help, if not welcome anyways and I'm sure someone will point you in the right direction.

ukeshale
10-21-2009, 08:07 AM
Hey! I'd personally concentrate more on chords rather than tab right now. I'm sure someone's gonna come along soon and give you some really great advice though. The main thing is that you enjoy it and maintain enthusiasm for learning the instrument. Here's some handy ukulele resources -

http://www.ukuleleunderground.com/forum/showthread.php?t=15464

sukie
10-21-2009, 08:14 AM
i'm no expert either, but the essential chords to learn are the chords used in the songs you want to learn. some chords are easier than others, but don't shy away from the hard ones because sooner or later you will need them. the c, f and g7 are used a lot so for sure lean them.