Thoughts on Low G Strings and Baritone Ukes

experimentjon

Reaction score
I've been playing uke for almost two years now. And I had never really given the Baritone uke or even low G tuning a chance. I did buy a Pono PKT with Low G Ko'olau Golds on them. But I hated the sound, because it just didn't sound right, and took the strings off and swapped them for Aquilas (I was in my Aquila phase back then...played nothing but Aquilas) as soon as I got home.

But the whole time, I've heard things about how everyone needed to try Low G because they'd love it. The KoAloha Factory suggested I put low Gs on my uke when I had pickup work done there (amazing install job), but I turned them down on that one and had them use my favorite high Gs. But if Paul and Brian recommend something, you know it's good stuff. So recently, MGM put Worth CT LGs up. (I'm in a Worth phase now...if I restring something, it is with the appropriate set of Worth Clears.) And when I got them (which is very fast with MGM) I threw it on a Koa Pili Koko tenor. It was sort of an annoying restring because I needed to sand both the nut and saddle slots wider to take the fatter low G string. But it was not too difficult because I had already sanded down all of the nut slots and the bridge to lower the action, which makes the KPK play almost as smooth as any of the "K-brand" tenors. (Paying for a setup has become a no no for me...I've been there and tried it, and the guitar tech did no better than I could have done myself. Since my time is free, it was a complete waste of money.)