Mainland Concert Mahogany

bazmaz

Reaction score
Just had mine arrive from the wonderful Eagle Music - Huddersfield - UK.

Now, i am primarily a guitarist - own several, but it is just a hobby (not a profession) - as such, with guitars, i could never justify to myself (or my family) spending thousands on a new guitar.

It's the same for Uke's. Started with a laminate Vintage a while ago, and have spent the last 1.5 years playing a Flea. That is a great instrument with tremendous volume, but to my acoustic guitar playing ears, the plasticy bright sound was starting to make me think.

This morning, my new Mainland Concert arrived in gloss Mahogany finish. And what a pretty thing it is. Finish is pretty much flawless.

Some earlier reviews showed that frets were hidden in side of neck - sadly not on mine. Headstock though is lighter in colour than those I've seen reviewed (and I must say, that is to my preference)

Only niggle on finish is the grain on the top is slightly off centre which gives an optical illusion effect that the bridge is not on straight (it is).

As for the sound - I think it's lovely, and just what I was hankering for - my wife agrees (and she just normally rolls her eyes at my instruments). Hey, it's not a handmade hawaiian instrument, and I know that - but what it is, is a very nicely made, USA assembled instrument, in solid wood with a great sound.

Very (very) slightly quieter than my Flea, but such a warm lovely welcoming sound - great sustain too.

I'm totally hooked - just wish the full range were easier to find in the UK.

Comments welcomed!

P

Cool, congrats on the new ukulele. Which do you find easier to play, the Flea or the Mainland? I only ask because the Flea is the easiest player I've yet to try, but I haven't tried a Mainland. It seems like everyone's getting a Mainland here on UU, which tells me they must be pretty darn good...

Congratulations on your new uke. :)