Kala Solid Mahogony Soprano KA-SMHS

SamD

Reaction score
After a couple of months plinking around on a cheapy first uke (Stagg US10 - horrible intonation) I decided that ukuleles were pretty darn funky and I had to get a half decent one. Being a poor student I wasn't looking to spend a lot on an expensive instrument. I had heard good reviews about Lanikais and had seen one for sale in my local music shop for £50, so went along to try it out. Sold out. So I though i would take advantage of being there anyway and try out the other ukes thay had. Next step up in price was a Laka (wannabe Kala?! made my Vintage I think) for £99. Sounded much nicer in tone than my cheapy, but still had some dissapointing intonation issues, which was what I was trying to escape from. Next price step - £149 for a Kala solid mahogany. I strummed a couple of chords and was wow-ed by the warmth of tone and spot on intonation. Admittedly my ears are somewhat untrained and anything would sound amazing after what I was used to playing, but even so it was a joy to play. Having gone from looking for a £50 instrument to one three times that price I was a bit unsure, but even I could tell the difference in sound quality between the all solid Kala and the laminate Laka (which may or may not have had a solid top - I can't remember). Another selling point was the fact that it came with Aquilas as standard. So after much umming and erring I bit the bullet and bought the better instrument. What are Student Loans for, after all?

Review

Features: 8/10

• solid mahogany body
  • mahogany neck
  • rosewood (I think) fretboard and string-through bridge
  • Aquila high G strings
  • black friction tuners (not sure what make, sorry)
  • pearl fret markers top and side
  • saddle and nut look like ebony, but may be some kind of resin?
  • matte finish
  • body is slightly deeper at the bottom than the top
  • faux tortoiseshell binding, plus a little bit on the heel, which looks nice :)