Individual Fingerpicking

ArchDukeofUke

Reaction score
I am new to the ukulele and have been playing for under a week now. (Lanikai LU21T) I can play a bunch of basic chords (C, G, Am, F, D etc) but am looking to now figure out the best way to individually play notes, rather than just strumming full chords. I have been biting my nails forever, and have recently stopped for the sake of playing with my fingers. What is your preferred finger picking style? I can do the in-out pattern that was described on UkuleleMinutes but am looking to find out how people individually pick notes. Do you use your thumb nail (which I don't really have yet?) I noticed from some videos some people pick the ukulele almost like a bass guitar, with their four fingers facing completely downward. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I mainly just fingerpick and I've no nails to speak of (because of my work...)

So what I use instead in the pad of my fingers. The sound produced isn't as loud or as dynamic as if I were to use my nails- but it works just fine and I'm sure my family appreciates the decrease in volume.

I've also a set of Alaska Piks that I use which are kinda removable nails. And they work great- but I've taken to keeping my nails so short that even the Alaska piks don't work...

Hope that helps!

I don't use my fingernails either. So don't worry about short nails.

JJ

What fingers do you use to pick? I've seen some pick with all thumb, all pointer finger, etc. Or do you use all but your pinky?

I played classical guitar before I started playing uke so I tend to use my thumb, index, middle, and ring finger assigning one per string.

But, depending on the song, I may use just my thumb and index or my thumb, index and middle...

If I were you I'd play around with what way you are most comfortable with. I've seen some play with just there thumb and it sounds just as good.

~Valerie