Low G-String tuning.

degracia

Reaction score
I recieved the Makala MK-T that Deach gave away :) :D

But one problem I have is the wounded G string. I'm not good with strings but I'd like to know how to tune it. It's a ridiculous question, and I couldnt seem to find another thread on it.

Once the question has been answered, mods can lock this.

low g sounds super weird til u get used to it, especially if youre used to regular ukes. but i actually prefer low g cuz its kinda a "darker" side of the uke. But i use an IMT-500 to tune it same as a normal g string.

*edit* not really same as a normal g string, but its G, just a low version, hope that helps

Last edited:
I see now. So I guess I tuned it down to the low G.

But would anyone reccomend me changing the strings then? I mean, I'm fine with the CEA strings, but I'm much used to playing the standard GCEA tuning.

I see now. So I guess I tuned it down to the low G.

But would anyone reccomend me changing the strings then? I mean, I'm fine with the CEA strings, but I'm much used to playing the standard GCEA tuning.

if it were me, i would keep it on, and have one uke with a normal g, and one with low g, then you can decide which to play, you have both sides of the spectrum

I recieved the Makala MK-T that Deach gave away :) :D

But one problem I have is the wounded G string. I'm not good with strings but I'd like to know how to tune it. It's a ridiculous question, and I couldnt seem to find another thread on it.

Once the question has been answered, mods can lock this.

Here's a link that can help you tune the Low-G string while you decide if you want to change it or not.

http://www.sheep-entertainment.nl/ukulele/index.html

Select the "Tenor" tuning option on the right-hand side and click on the pitchpipe so it'll help you get started on playing.

Yeah I used the sheep tuning.

I still find it 'uncomfortable'. If I changed the strings, is it normal for a Tenor to have a standard GCEA tuning?