PDA

View Full Version : Aloha from Sacramento area

Steve vanPelt
11-11-2009, 03:30 PM
Hi, all. This is Steve from California. I had never played an instrument with strings until I played an ukulele about six months ago while we were on vacation in Hawaii. I bought a Tangi koa concert in Hilo. (get well soon, Tangi) I can only play a handfull of chords, but really enjoy it. Ukulele makes me happy.

I've been a woodworker for fun and profit for a few decades, so of course I had to try and build my own uke. I just finished #6......

UU is the best, and thank you to everyone for all the great info and stuff you all share with us. And a special thanks to the Luthiers lounge crew, without your helpfulness I would have been really lost.

Just one quick shout out to Deach, just for being Deach and I'm outta here.

see ya, Steve

Kanaka916
11-11-2009, 05:31 PM
707 area code? Where is Sac are you?

Steve vanPelt
11-11-2009, 05:34 PM
707 area code? Where is Sac are you?
West of Sac, in Fairfield.

seeso
11-11-2009, 06:32 PM
Right on, Steve. Welcome. Any pics that you can share of your builds?

Steve vanPelt
11-11-2009, 07:57 PM
Hi Seeso,

Thanks for asking. In the first pic, left to right, is the first one I made from a Kevin Murray kit, next is my first from scratch using a mahogany 1x6 I had laying around the shop and then two koa pineapples that I'm just finishing up. The koa tenor I gave to my dad for his 86th. The last one I made just for fun after seeing a coffinlele thread on UU.

seeso
11-11-2009, 08:24 PM
Hi Seeso,

Thanks for asking. In the first pic, left to right, is the first one I made from a Kevin Murray kit, next is my first from scratch using a mahogany 1x6 I had laying around the shop and then two koa pineapples that I'm just finishing up. The koa tenor I gave to my dad for his 86th. The last one I made just for fun after seeing a coffinlele thread on UU.

Dude! Gorgeous! I love that mahogany one! It looks pomelle.

Steve vanPelt
11-11-2009, 08:46 PM