I found an Ukulele and have started!

HeiEivind

Reaction score
But i need some help... I don't know what kind of ukulele I have, but now it sounds very sour even though I think it's correct tuned(after a video on youtube).. maybe it's me that just can't hear anything. It's very small and it stands "Lanikai Ukulele Hawaii" It has twelve boards. I think Ukulele is very fun, i have played just a bit guitar before, so i'm not a total beginner.. I have tried guitar sometimes and know tabs.. But what can I do to not make it so sour? Is it just a bad ukulele? In the beginning I didnt notice, maybe its the tuning.. (human fail).. I have learnt the intro to My ukulele Gently weeps and it sounds good, but chords just doesn't sound very good... Im currently trying to learn this: http://www.ukulele-tabs.com/uke-songs/tenacious-d/beelzeboss-uke-tab-1010.html but it doesnt sound correct, do i need to aftertune it to this song or what? Wrong type of ukulele?

Thanks, Eivind

My aunt is also travelling to the USA and I might get her to buy a Ukulele for me, to get a better one, or a one that sounds good to all songs you know? So I can play tenacious D:p What kind should that be?

Eivind, it's difficult to know how to help you when we can't hear what your ukulele sounds like. Is there any way you can record a video and share it with us? It would help us to understand your problem.

Lanikai ukuleles are pretty good entry-level ukuleles, so I wonder if yours is just tuned wrong, or if the strings are just dead.

The first thing I would try is a string replacement. Aquila strings are known for making cheap ukuleles sound better. Give it a try.

My aunt is also travelling to the USA and I might get her to buy a Ukulele for me, to get a better one, or a one that sounds good to all songs you know? So I can play tenacious D:p What kind should that be?

How much money can you spend?