Kala? Yes. Acacia? Yes. Concert or Tenor? Err...

pulelehua

Reaction score
I've been playing guitar for about 20 years. I've been playing ukulele for about a month. So, I'm an experienced beginner, or something like that. I'm sure lots of you were in my position once upon a time.

I've been playing a Brunswick soprano, and it's... well, if you're reading this, you know how much fun I've been having. The soprano isn't mine, so I'm looking at a big step up and getting a uke of my own.

I love the punchiness of the Brunswick, and I also love the boxy "uke sound". I'm quite tall, and have long thin fingers. The soprano is okay for me, but I find chords can get a bit fiddly in terms of tripping over myself. I also wonder if I'd prefer higher string tension for fingerpicking. I am definitely headed in the heavy-mix-of-strumming-and-fingerpicking direction. I've got pretty decent Spanish technique, so use lots of chucking, rasqueados, etc. The soprano has a really percussive sound. I can get about any mix I want of noise and note. Is this true across the size range.

Obviously, I've been reading the tons of reviews praising the Acacia Tenor to the skies, and it's gorgeous (IMO). But I'm afraid of it just not sounding enough like a ukulele for me. To my ears, it doesn't quite have the right sound. Beautiful? Yes. But not a ukulele. I don't think I'm alone on this, but there does seem to be an avalanche of tenor enthusiasm.

So, is there any reason NOT to get the concert?

Oh, and another important question: I've been reading about the joys of solid wood. I live in Kent in Southeast England. It's pretty humid. I regularly go to California, which is quite dry. How worried do I need to be? I own a Martin D-18 acoustic. It's always behaved itself, and it's all solid.

BTW, I live in an area without a great deal of ukulele enthusiasm. Therefore, my ability to roadtest any ukes is extremely limited. Hence my asking you, the great uke support group.