audio set ups.

grammy

Reaction score
there are, as my granny used to say, a hundred ways to skin a cat. There are at least that many ways to set up home audio systems. i've seen lots of vids where it is clear that the maker has some kit, and lots where you can hear the after editing, i'm interested in how people have set up. i'm an amateur so try not to blind me with science

myself i went for an external maudio sound card(firewire), i go into this with analogue via a small 4 channel behringer mixer. this allows me to use voice, or guitar/bass or anything with a pick up, and i have my my digital piano hooked up to the midi on the same card.

I mostly do multi track audio in cubase sx3, which is cumbersome but versatile, and i occasionally edit in sound forge 9. I'm starting to use Vegas a little so Sound forge is becoming more prefered.

I use ampeg software as my bass amp and guitar rig 3 as my guitar set up. The latency is so low in firewire that i can do it and enjoy it.

i use alesis mk2 active near field monitors for nice clear sound, though the mid tones could be better on voice. and i use audio technica flat response headphones, which are the best hundred odd quid i ever spent to be honest.

seems like everyone i have ever met does it differently, what about you?

I keep it pretty simple. I have an M-Audio MobilePre as my pre-amp. I plug mics and instruments into it. It's got two inputs, and both have a 1/4 inch input and an XLR, soI can record two instruments at a time.

I have an M-Audio ProKeys 88sx that plugs into my computer via USB.

So far, I'm using GarageBand for all my recording. I plan to learn Logic next year.