Need Help With Technique I Think

Marshmallow

Reaction score
I've been playing for about 6 months now. Just recently I've came across a problem. When I try to switch from an F chord to a D, it's very awkward and seemingly impossible. I'm thinking there's something wrong with my technique.

When I hold, the F, I let the neck of the ukulele rest on the palm of my hand (not really the palm, it's the pads at the bases of your fingers). As I make the switch to D, the neck of the ukulele wants to fall because of the way I hold my D (which may be wrong - I bar the 2nd fret with my pointer finger and use my pinky to fret the A string, 5th fret). I can't support the neck in between.

I may just need to practice, but it sure seems like there's a different problem.

By the way, I have a soprano. So, I have to support it with both arms.

Attachments

• harmony-uke2-front.jpg
    harmony-uke2-front.jpg
    97.1 KB · Views: 22
  • kanilea-front-full.jpg
    kanilea-front-full.jpg
    94.5 KB · Views: 9
  • kanilea-side.jpg
    kanilea-side.jpg
    97.9 KB · Views: 6
  • kanilea-front.jpg
    kanilea-front.jpg
    97.5 KB · Views: 9
  • kanilea-back.jpg
    kanilea-back.jpg
    97.5 KB · Views: 8
There's another way to play a D chord. You can play 2220 instead of 2225

But if you need to use that D inversion, you should try to practice on positioning your thumb correctly on the back of the ukulele. If your thumb is positioned wrong, then everything else follows. Find a nice comfortable place where you can place your thumb so that you can support barred chords like the D. Also, see if your right hand/arm is also in the correct place. You're supposed to support it from both sides. Show us a video perhaps? Maybe we can help you better

:D

Attachments

• IMG_4829.jpg
    IMG_4829.jpg
    95.2 KB · Views: 15
  • IMG_4830.jpg
    IMG_4830.jpg
    92 KB · Views: 13
Great! So, is it normal to support the neck with my palm when i'm not playing barred chords, or is that incorrect?