Hi, I'm new, this seems a great forum :D But could i have somne help please?!?!

Mini123

Reaction score
Hi :)

Can I firstly say this seems like a great forum filled with loads of friendly people :)

Im new to the uke but im loving it, i was thinking about buying aquila strings for my ukulele, are they good?? But really what I'm asking is, is the low G string different for soprano/ concerts ukes as i'm thinking of buying a single one, but its advertised as for concert ukuleles and mine is soprano????

Thanks in advance

(ps. thanks to seeso because i've been playing his tabs and been really enjoying it :p)

Aquila is a very popular and inexpensive upgrade and will give most ukes a bigger sound. I don't see any problems using a Low G concert string on a soparano. If you're just beginning, I would stay with the re-entrant tuning (GCEA) till you're familiar with chords and such. You may/may not like the Low G sound.:2cents:

I'm glad you're getting some use out of my tabs. Welcome to the site, Mini123.

Thanks for such a quick response!!

The one I was looking at says it is wound,
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Aquila-Ukulel...nstruments?hash=item45ef7f82e5#ht_2562wt_1165

I have to buy it off ebay because i live in Northern Ireland and can't find any shops around me that sell ukulele strings :mad: But to be honest I don't really understand the problem you are talking about :confused: so if someone could please tell me if this string will have that problem??

I have been playing the uke for about 6 months but not as often as i would like, is what i meant by just starting so i have learned quite a few chords/ and a few songs so i just want to try the low g, (Im buying a standard aquila set of strings as well as i will probably react to low G as you said)

Thanks again :)

Last edited: