Upgraaaaade

Reaction score
Hey all,
I've been playing on my first uke, a Lanikai LU-21p, for a good six months to a year now, and I'm looking for an upgrade. Don't get me wrong, I love this one. It's my baby. But I do think I want to get a newer one. So here's my list of things I'd like, but not all necessary.

1. My budget is probably somewhere around $350, but cheaper is always better :D
2. I'd really like a deeper sound. I've been playing with a soprano and I love the cheery sound, but I'd like a deeper richer sound.
3. Possibly a tenor or concert? I'm not really sure what the differences are, besides the extra frets.
4. An electric/acoustic would be nice, but not necessary. I'd like to play gigs, or hook it up to my death metal effects pedal. Bwahaha!
5. I'd like a cutaway, or even two.
6. I am not really a big fan of the different colored ukuleles, like red or blue or green. I prefer natural colors.

That's pretty much it! Thanks in advance for the help y'all :D

Thank you for sharing. I'm sure a visit to a music shop that stock ukulele's would be a good thing for you to do. You'd have a chance to compare different sizes and features and see what works for you. No one here can tell you that.

i think the point here is that your upper limit is pretty high, and you will find a large number of instruments in your price range - not really sure where to start!

Agree with last post - you will get a very nice, solid, electro kala for that money.

I'd love to do that, but around me we only have a couple music shops, and they've got maybe one or two ukuleles there.

One suggested to me was a Kala KA-KTE or I think it was STE either way it's very nice around 350 ish dollars it's acoustic/electric but I don't know what kind of pickup it has. I think it also comes with a preamp.

Visit MGM, Mike will help with all your questions. The best on the web IMO.