First Uke Purchase

randypollok

Reaction score
Hello UU,

This is a standard 'what uke should I get!' question for anyone who wants to help.

Here is my situation: I'm an active musician and music teacher, I already teach ukulele lessons (though I primarily teach piano, guitar, and clarinet). My ukulele is a loaner, which is fine, but my wife has caught the ukulele bug and now I want to buy both of us new Ukes for the holidays. She is also a beginner but a musician.

My location is west virginia, which means that 1. there are no ukulele vendors around, so playing before purchase is not an option, and 2. shipping costs and production location are an issue. It would probably be cheaper and 'better' for the instrument if it was made and mailed in the continental united states, potentially ruling out true hawaiian ukes and euro/british makers.

So, what do you recommend? (Try to answer that first before reading on to my current thoughts)

---

Looking around the internets, I'm currently leaning towards a laminate back/sides and solid wood faced Kala, probably a concert size for her and a tenor for me as I think having a slight variety in tone would make playing duets together more fun. I'm leaning towards the Concert size for her just because I appreciate the very slight increase in volume and neck length.

Here is a link to a seller I'm considering, and the model numbers that appeal to me right off the bat.

http://www.jwbosworthguitars.com/KalaPriceList.htm

KA-CEM for 123$, comes with a case (Presumably a 'firm' case, not a heavy duty hard case or a gig bag, but one of those stiff cardboard-esque deals?)
KA-TEM for 139$, comes with a case (same deal)

I have more thoughts, but this post is already novel length so.. Let me know your thoughts, forumites, and fast so that I can get my seasonal shopping done!