Is this a problem for anyone else?

ukulelegal

Reaction score
far away from others who play ukulele...it sucks
I can read music BUTit's very hard for me. I have trouble distinguishing the notes...they all blur...I have to sit down and write the corresponding letters in order to keep it straight...

I think it's just me because I have trouble when I chart for work and it's the same thing, having to follow a line across...

Weird thing is I can read tab without a problem...any thoughts/advice/commiseration? :p

Since I've gotten older I practically need a million watt flood light to see all the notes to read music but for some reason tab is okay. I've given up and just tab most things out now especially for classical. Doug

Just thought, I'll bet if we look we can find some software that can convert to tab.

I haven't any idea. I'll look today when I have some time later on.

I am a software developer. I started working on a program for this, then bought Finale. :)

I can't read notes nor tabs, just chords. :rolleyes:

I have the same problem. My eyes get lost in all those parallel lines and by the time I figure out where I am in the score I've lost my place elsewhere.

There are plenty of tab programs out there, some better than others. Finale and Sibelius both have scanner plugins that allow you to scan a sheet of music and convert it to computer format. After that, with some work you can add a TAB staff and drag the notes onto it. They have some basic rules to follow like clustering the numbers together so you don't have 5 fret stretches and things like that. Once it's done you can drag the TAB notes you don't like to another string line and the number changes accordingly.

If you don't want to spend the big bucks for Finale or Sibelius, there are other cheaper programs out there. Powertab, Tabledit, Musedit are three of the better ones. They all have the basic functionality but without all the bells and whistles of the professional layout programs.