Stuck between two ukuleles

Slaskie

Reaction score
I have recently decided to buy a new ukulele, but I am stuck between two models. I am buying from my local Guitar Center and tried out all of their ukuleles and narrowed it down to the $179 Cordoba 20TM-CE Tenor and the $ 199 Lanikai CK-CGC Concert. The Lanikai has a slightly more exotic sound in my opinion and looks better than the Cordoba, but the Cordoba has electronics installed which will make it easier for me to play for people, etc. However, I am not very experienced with ukuleles, so I hoping that you all would offer me your opinions / suggestions on the two and which to buy. Thanks very much!

I'm assuming your budget is $200 or so. You mentioned 2 different sizes, tenor and concert. Which one are you comfortable playing? Now you need to decide if you want electronics or not. Electronics usually add to the cost of the instrument. Picking between a Cordoba and a Lanikai, it would probably be the latter. Cordobas are kinda hit and miss.

I don't know where you're located and if GC is your only outlet, I would suggest one of the online vendors like MGM, Uke Repbublic, The Ukulele Shop or consider a Mainland (probably the best bang for the buck). You may wanna check the Music Stores List, maybe there's one close to you.

There is one other music store, but its ukuleles are too expensive. I am going to buy locally from GC, so the two ukuleles described are my only options. The Cordoba was slightly easier fingerpicking because of its wider Tenor-size frets but the Lanikai had a more pleasing sound to it when strummed. I do want electronics, but only the Cordoba has a mic installed - what would I use for the lanikai?
----IRRELEVANT POST - I changed my mind and am going to buy from MGM :p ----

Last edited: