Hello from San Diego

sdreefsurf

Reaction score
hi there everyone! i'm not only brand new to the ukulele but i'm new to learning any instrument. i don't possess a musical bone in me but as sort of a lasting memory of my dad i'm taking it up. the short story is my dad passed away last year of cancer. he was the kind of guy that could pick up any instrument and play it. these last 3 years or so he's been learning and playing the ukulele taking lessons from chika up in the south bay area of la and lessons from herb ota jr. when he was in town. both of these 2 guys visited my dad in the hospital which really raised his already high spirits.
anyway, i'm really set on learning despite my lack of natural ability lol. i inherited one of his ukes that i think is a ""koaloha black label with low g and deluxe". i'm not sure what that means but that's what it says in the case lol i'm thankful of this site, the great ppl here, and the other resources out there that hopefully will help me learn this beautiful instrument.

thanks everyone in advance!

lance

here's a pic of dad learning from herb jr
IMG_0259.jpg

IMG_0260.jpg
IMG_0262.jpg

Attachments

• PC070001.JPG
    PC070001.JPG
    84.1 KB · Views: 11
  • PC070002.JPG
    PC070002.JPG
    86.1 KB · Views: 9
  • PC070003.JPG
    PC070003.JPG
    81.1 KB · Views: 7
  • PC070004.JPG
    PC070004.JPG
    81.1 KB · Views: 9
Last edited:
well thank you and you're right i need to learn and pass along his memories

Sorry to hear about your dad. It looks like he found comfort and joy in playing
the ukulele. What part of San Diego are you in? There are some really good
ukulele teachers all around San Diego. There is also kanikapila in Pacific
Beach, Encinitas, Carlsbad and Oceanside. There are some in the East
County, too. Ric