PDA

View Full Version : Can you tune a tenor to DGBE?



jasonpaulrobert
12-09-2009, 02:55 PM
I'm a long time guitar player and I want to buy a decent acoustic/electric baritone uke. However, tenors offer more options. Can I tune a tenor to DGBE? Also, I was looking at Kalas, but Guitar Center and Musician's Friend have a CORDOBA 20-TMCE Mahogany Tenor Cutaway w/pickup. Any advise on which brand I should go with? Thanks.

heyjude
12-09-2009, 03:43 PM
I used to be a long time guitar player myself. To answer your question, I found that Aquilla has a set of tenor uke strings for the DGBE tuning. Here's the ebay link where I found them-http://cgi.ebay.com/AQUILA-TENOR-UKULELE-STRINGS-EGBD_W0QQitemZ390121983236QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_De faultDomain_0?hash=item5ad5150d04
I don't know if this link will work or not. If not just do a search on ebay for tenor uke strings and you'll find the Aquillas.

Jude

SailorQwest
12-09-2009, 03:50 PM
Yes you can! Aquila makes a set of strings just for that. I have my tenor tuned dGBE and I really like the sound. And it blends well when I play along with ukes with standard tuning.

cjensen91910
12-10-2009, 05:47 AM
Here is a link to just what you are looking for. I use these on my tenor.

http://www.juststrings.com/aqu-atgt.html

rasun
12-10-2009, 07:41 AM
Many of Lyle Ritz's tunes are in dgbe, and I keep a couple of my ukulele in this tuning, as well as a fBbdg tuning.

Gaby
12-10-2009, 11:16 AM
Hilo makes tenor DGBE strings as well. Worth may do too, but you'll have to check with them. In that case you may be able to get unwound DGBE strings.