Linings...

Pete Howlett

Reaction score
I think I have figured out why a small batch of simple ukulele I built for FUN in Finland ended up sounding so good - solid linings. This method makes for a very rigid side that will still transfer top energy to the back thus making the instrument 'alive'. I'm doing another batch soon in koa, mahogany and cherry; some will be my style 0 plain Janes and some are style 1 with binding only to the front and two having binding top and back. It will be interesting to compare and see if making the sides really stiff helps in projection and volume and how binding an edge also effects sound.

??? :rulez: ???

At least that's the plan...:smileybounce:

I know people who swear by them in their guitars.
I think your idea may have some merit. I'm no scientist so I don't know. I'll be seeing David Hurd (Kawika) tomorrow and I'll ask him his thoughts. I brace my upper bout as stiffly as I can and with all my bindings and purflings glued together I believe I am achieving the same effect in stiffening up the lower "frame". But this is all secret stuff that I'm not allowed to talk about.

If you look at the guitar builders - the curious ones, they play around a lot with the idea of stiffening all that is below the soundboard. Charles Fox with his highly engineered reverse lining; Smallman laminating the sides of his classical guitars; Rick Turner using flying braces that stiffen the upper bout and seem to me to act as trusses to stiffen up the top; McKnight using many techniques to get this effect. I also like the solid linings because I don't have to spend half a day unplugged from reality making kerfed lining...

Is David still building? I thought he's retired now...

I also like the solid linings because I don't have to spend half a day unplugged from reality making kerfed lining...