Recording for YouTube

Tonyd

Reaction score
I've had a few friends and contacts ask me to post up a vid to show how my practice is going, and being a complete newbie to recording myself as well as playing I have lots of questions. Even though I don't intend to record loads of vids, I still want it to be watchable and ok sound quality.
If anyone has any advice I'd be very grateful.

What software do I need ? Is there a free/cheap option as I won't be recording all the time.
Do I need to buy a mic. or will the built in laptop mic. be ok ?

And any advice at all that you think might help.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Are you on a Mac or PC? What kind of laptop is it?

Some people get fine results from a digital point and shoot camera. If you've got one already, that would be the cheapest option.

I don't know how your laptop mic sounds, but I'm sure it would be fine. There's only one way to find out. Try it.

Are you on a Mac or PC? What kind of laptop is it?

Some people get fine results from a digital point and shoot camera. If you've got one already, that would be the cheapest option.

I don't know how your laptop mic sounds, but I'm sure it would be fine. There's only one way to find out. Try it.

I agree with Seeso, a point and shoot camera is really fine. All of my videos are done this way. People who watch YT have come to expect video quality that is clearer than you get from some built in web cams though.

Try your computer mic first. If the sound quality isn't good, perhaps borrow a mic from someone and try it out. If you do buy a mic, it does have to be expensive though.

For Audio. I use Audacity on my PC. It is simple and free. Garage Band on the Mac works well too. I use the free video software too.

what seeso said. just try it.