Uke Is Too Good

Tsani

Reaction score
OK, what should I do?

I guess I have my dream uke already. I am in love with my Favilla.

I am not good enough to play this uke. The sound is warm, strong, sweet... like honey. It just sings.

I have only had it for a few weeks. I got soooo lucky. Picked it up in an antique shop for $24 bucks. A friend of mine saw a uke just like mine in a local music store and they were asking just shy of $700 dollars for it. I have seen a uke almost identical to mine on ebay for about $600.

I keep wondering if I should sell it.

I could get two or three good quality instruments for what this one is worth. But if I do, I will never have the opportunity to own or play another instrument of this quality.

I am not a great uke player - yet. I have never had any formal lessons. I just learn chords and play. I have learned to pick a little, but I am just a beginner. I do not deserve this instrument. But I have it.

I cannot give her up. It is like like having a very high-class girlfriend and you feel like a jerk because you cannot give her everything she deserves.

I am keeping my Favilla. I hope I can learn enough to do justice to its gorgeous sound. I'm a poor beginner but this instrument make me sound like Andres Segovia.

I will post my uke p*** soon, but the looks of the instrument are not to be compared with the sound. She is pretty in her way - not flashy - just warm dark mahogany - but the sound... oh my, the sound!

You and this Uke came together for a reason, keep it and you'll find out what it is. ;)

Last edited:
Definitely keep it. You don't have to be good to appreciate a fine instrument. I have lots of guitars and I am not very good at all (despite 35 years of trying) but I can and do appreciate the good ones.

Thanks guys! I'm definitely going to "hold on to what I've got". I hope I learn to play well enough that other people will enjoy the sound as much as I do. :D