Friction or Gear, Koa or Mahogany, Concert or Tenor?

Friction tuning knobs and gear tuning knobs?

• Total voters

Sic_Rob

Reaction score
I am new to playing the ukulele. I bought my first in October and I love it. I spent a small amount of money on a good beginner Ukulele. I bought a Lanikia Soprano and it was a great buy for the money. I didn't want to spend a lot in case I didn't enjoy it. Well now that I know how much I enjoy it I want to do the inevitable upgrade, but I have questions. I don't plan to buy a third Ukulele for a very very long time. this one has to last and be the right fit. I have 4 questions and all replies are appreciated.

1. What is the difference between Friction tuning knobs and gear tuning knobs.

2. Is there an big difference between Mahogany and Koa, if so what is the difference?

3. Which do you prefer, Concert or Tenor, remember I have no intentions of playing out in a band.

4. My budget will be up to $600. Any suggestions at that range?

Thanks for reading

I am new to playing the ukulele. I bought my first in October and I love it. I spent a small amount of money on a good beginner Ukulele. I bought a Lanikia Soprano and it was a great buy for the money. I didn't want to spend a lot in case I didn't enjoy it. Well now that I know how much I enjoy it I want to do the inevitable upgrade, but I have questions. I don't plan to buy a third Ukulele for a very very long time. this one has to last and be the right fit. I have 4 questions and all replies are appreciated.

2. Is there an big difference between Mahogany and Koa, if so what is the difference?

3. Which do you prefer, Concert or Tenor, remember I have no intentions of playing out in a band.

Thanks for reading

Welcome to UU and the world of ukeing!!! :) Friction tuners are the more traditional tuner. Friction tuners tend to require the strings to be tuned more than the geared tuners. My preference is geared tuners.