PDA

View Full Version : Conversions tenor to baritone



pahider
12-19-2009, 05:45 AM
Anyone know how I can find a chart, etc., that will convert a song's chords written for a tenor uke to a baritone uke (DGBE tuning)? I've got a bunch of music written for the tenor. I can play it on the baritone, but to sing along I've either got to ice my neck to get the low notes, or yank up on my pants to get the high ones. Thanks, Phil

SailQwest
12-19-2009, 05:55 AM
I used to have one I made...can't find it.

What I did was write in colored marker the baritone chord next to the soprano (or soprano) chord fingering. Pretty easy and very low tech. :)

If you want to do it:
Soprano/Baritone
C/G
D/A
E/B
F/C
G/D
A/E
B/F#

bradley10
12-19-2009, 07:48 AM
There are two websites I mainly use to look up chords. You can look up baritone, tenor, concert or soprano.

They have a picture of the fretboard and you can click on the fret for each string and it will tell you what chord you have made.

http://4stringchords.com/
http://www.ukulele.nl/chordfinder.php

Both sites are pretty helpful and you can make your on chord chart.

grammy
12-19-2009, 09:31 AM
you could just use a capo untill it gets into your vocal range

ukestang
12-19-2009, 12:28 PM
chordie.com check bottom right of song, or just play the guitar chord shown on 1st 4 strings.

DeG
12-20-2009, 05:50 PM
At first I thought, "what are you talking about? An A chord is an A chord" Then I saw Sailquest's response and I understood, you're asking about transposing chord figures, that makes a lot more sense...and I feel stupid now. Especially, since I play both Bari and tenor and never pieced this conversion together myself:D

I'll just throw this out for consideration, they make GCEA string sets for baritone. If you predominately play tenor, and only occasionally play bari, i would set up the bari in GCEA. Unless, the idea is to learn something new, which is cool too.

:shaka:

DaveVisi
12-20-2009, 06:10 PM
They also make DGBE strings for Tenors too.

pahider
12-21-2009, 12:32 AM
Thanks everyone. I got it and am on my way. Phil

johncaudrey
12-21-2009, 12:42 AM
WS64's http://tabtransposer.com/ would also be ideal for this