Help with an Eleuke choice please

VixDee

Reaction score
Hi Gang,

I was hoping for some help with an Eleuke choice.

First of all, I am a relative newbie to the ukulele. I purchased my starter Makala concert from MGM a few months ago. I'm having a blast but find myself waking the others in the home with my late night practicing. Which brings me to the Eleuke...

I'm thoroughly confused about a few things regarding the Eleuke. I hope someone can help.

1) What's the deal with the different sizes? Is the body the same size on all three? I think I read on the Eleuke website that the concert and tenor have the same number of frets.

2) What about the difference in woods? They have fir, mahogany, rose... What difference does this make? Is the sound different with each wood?

I'd appreciate any wisdom offered on the subject. I'm hoping to acquire one soon.

Mahalo everyone!

you will be lucky finding that much detail - their product range is very confusing, and there are limited reviews.

What I can say, is that I have what they call a Soprano model - but it is the same size and scale as my Mainland Concert (20 frets).

As for wood, whilst body wood on an electric guitar makes a difference to sustain - these eleukes have fairly limited sustain, and I would therefore be very surprised if you could noticeably tell a difference in sound for the differing woods. Mine is Rosewood.

I love mine, plus it was only £65 brand new!

Thanks for your insight. I think I'm really going to enjoy an Eleuke if I can just get my selection right. So if a soprano is the same size as a concert uke, that may be the way I'm heading. And rosewood seems to be the least expensive so I guess that's what I'm looking at.

Did you get the mp3 model?

Mahalo,
VixDee

Do these Eleukes need to be setup properly? Are they playable out of the box?

Thanks everyone!