Bb

Tonyd

Reaction score
B flat.

I'm not good with tabs yet, but 3211, is that the right way of writing it ?

Anyway. I'm doing well on all my other chords except this one. I'm having trouble getting my fingers over the strings cleanly (fat stubby fingers)

Is there an alternative way of playing it ? or am I stuck with practice practice..

There are several other inversions; 3215, 7565 but the 3211 is IMO the easiest shape to hold. And yea, it comes down pretty much to practice.

My world has changed

Thank you from me as well. Bb is now fun to play!:D

Most of the time, I just substitute a Bb(add9), which looks like this: 3213

Easier to play, and sounds "hipper" IMO.

(That said, you should still learn the regular barre version of Bb, because it's a moveable shape that will come in handy with other chords as well.)

JJ

If you examine the notes in the 3211 chord form (Bb), you will see that both the 1st and 4th string are playing a Bb note. It does little harm to leave one of them out when you fret the chord - just don't play that string. I don't have any trouble barring the chord, but if you do try it both ways you won't hear much difference. There are other chords on the uke this way. The chord will sound a little higher or lower, depending on which string you leave off, but it will still be a Bb chord and there will be harmony in the land.

If you examine the notes in the 3211 chord form (Bb), you will see that both the 1st and 4th string are playing a Bb note. It does little harm to leave one of them out when you fret the chord - just don't play that string. I don't have any trouble barring the chord, but if you do try it both ways you won't hear much difference. There are other chords on the uke this way. The chord will sound a little higher or lower, depending on which string you leave off, but it will still be a Bb chord and there will be harmony in the land.