Kala ThinLine Travel Tenor (Mahogany)

rpeters

Reaction score
Kala ThinLine Travel Tenor

I recently received a Kala ThinLine for Christmas and since its a relatively new model, I figured I would post my initial impressions of the instrument. Remember though, that I am a beginner and have only owned a Lanikai Pineapple.

Construction

It is beautifully made with a smooth finish that's not too shiny, or dull. The back is slightly rounded which contributes to the shaping of its sound which shoots out the thin solid wood spruce top. The solid wood is absolutely flawless, but seems a bit delicate as my finger nail has made a few hardly noticeable scratches in the finish. The back and sides are mahogany plywood, put have a wonderful wood grain, and painted black trim around the outside edges. Check out my youtube video to get a close up look at the instrument. The tuners are incredible compared to my lanikai, as they are extremely smooth and hold perfectly. The instrument smells slightly of wood glue, as it's probably fresh from the factory and then set up by Music Guy Mike. The neck weighs more than the body so it may feel a bit unbalanced at first, but I'm already getting used to that.

Tuning and Sound

MGM set up the instrument with Aquila standard strings, the sound is astonishing. It is an incredibly loud instrument and easily competes with my brother's dreadnought guitars. In comparison to my lanikai pineapple, the strings have a much higher tension and are a bit harder to bend notes, but that's probably me getting used to the tenor size. The strings are also new, and need to be worked in. The sound is deeper than my pineapple, and has more of a "bite" that I like. The Aquila strings are fairly balanced, I think the the A string could be a bit louder, but I'm sure it will the more I play it and the more the solid top opens up. I will also try Worth low G strings later this month.