out of tune uke: do I need new strings or a new uke?

ukeclariece

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to the ukulele and bought a Makala MK-S a few months ago. The more I play, the more I find myself having to re-tune during playing sessions. Is this an issue that will eventually go away, or could it be solved by buying higher quality strings? (I'm not sure what kind of strings it has on it now, whatever it came from the factory with). Or is this an issue of the quality of the uke itself? Will I need to purchase a more expensive instrument to alleviate the problem?

better strings would certainly help, but you might consider tightening the screws on the tuners just a bit. They don't need to be super tight, but tight enough that they don't slip. Also, a major change in temperature could be the bandit. hope this helps

Your strings have done the primary stretching and have gone past that to "worn out". Try new strings. Usually the strings that come on many ukes are not very good. I know I had black GHS strings that came on a couple of my ukes, and they were really not very good for those ukes. Try some Aquila strings or Worth strings, and I bet that will help.

I find when strings get too old, the uke just doesn't sound good anymore. The strings sound dead and out-of-tune. And who knows how long those strings were sitting around before you got the uke?

You will be surprised how much difference a new set of strings will make.

–Lori

better strings would certainly help, but you might consider tightening the screws on the tuners just a bit. They don't need to be super tight, but tight enough that they don't slip. Also, a major change in temperature could be the bandit. hope this helps
I think the Makala MK-S has geared tuners.
Only tighten the screws if you have friction tuners.
–Lori

I'm also not sure how you know his strings are "worn out"?