Lanikai L21 tips!!! (long post warning O.o)

ironman

Reaction score
Ok, I just bought a Lanikai L21, my first ukulele. Now, I don't really know much about ukes, and I don't really know how to play one, but I have been playing and setting up guitars for five years, and have pretty expensive taste in terms of tone (unfortunately my budget is not so large lol).

This uke actually amazed me, I wasn't expecting the feel or the sound to be what it was. it came with Aquila nylagut strings, and the action was set at 3/32 @ the 12th fret. Sustain wasn't too good, and the sound wasn't overly crisp, but the Uke felt solid and fairly well built, and what could I expect from a laminate...read on to find out how I improved my tone, sustain, and intonation while fretting!

Now, I had some issues at first...and have learned a few things from them.

The intonation was off for the first two days, but after the strings stretched, it was perfect. So, don't mess around with intonating your uke until the strings have had a chance to stretch and "settle".

On another note, pressing too hard on the strings made notes go to sharp...this is something I am still struggling with after four days, but I have gotten pretty good at lightly pressing the strings so they only touch the fret and not the fretboard. Intonation was still a little off at this point, but I suspected that was due to the action. So, don't press your strings to the fretboard as this will stretch them tighter than you want.

The action was too high for my likings, but everywhere I looked people were telling me the lowest I could go was 1/8"...which was 1/32" ABOVE where my action already was, finally I found a site that said some people like their action at 1/16". I was happy!