Which one should I buy? Makala MK-C or MK-S

Baldrick

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm looking to buy a Uke tomorrow and, after having a look on varioius websites and having a good read of posts in this section, I am lookign at one of these two Ukes. The question is, which one do I buy?

I don't want to spend too much as I'm new to Ukes ( and I've spent a fortune over the last few weeks! ) so ideally I am looking at a maximum of £40.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated

I prefer the MK-C because it is a concert ukulele, which means it is a little bit bigger than the soprano.

Sopranos don't really suit me because the fret board seems to be small for me. AND there are less frets most of the times on soprano ukuleles. Certain songs I play will move up to high frets and my soprano doesn't have those frets. The concert does though. :D

BUT it is all personal preference. Have you actually played or seen the ukulele yourself? If so, which one suited you better?

You may want to look at the Lanikai LU-21c. It is almost like the one you are looking at.

Good Luck and Happy Strumming!

Last edited:
I have only seen these online and so have not touched either of them. I like the idea of the Concert as it is a bit bigger and might last me longer as I learn.

Is the MK - C good quality? I have read good things about the LU-21c, but it is almost twice the price of the MK-C.

Makalas are entry-level, beginner ukes - but they are GOOD entry-level, beginner ukes. A real bargain. :)

They won't equal the sound or playability of a uke costing many times more, but for their prices they are real instruments which can be set up to play very well, and which can sound surprisingly good with the aid of a set of Aquila strings.