Strumming help! It sounds mad!!!

blonderocks

Reaction score
My strumming sounds all loud and mad and when I watch videos etc everyone elses seems all lovely and calm and 'clean'. I don't know if this is because of me (maybe heavy handed maybe lacking rhythm) OR because of my ukulele?

I do find strumming difficult like hitting all the strings, but I practice for freaking ages and it just never sounds right.

Sorry if this has been answered before! I did look, but not very far!

x x

How long have you been playing for? I've been playing for about 5 months, a lot more in the last month and I'm just finding now my strumming is slightly improving. I'm still not able to strum and sing a whole song with anything other than D U D U D U but it's getting better.

Ukulele magic! It happens when it happens and when you practice.

What finger(s) are you using to strum with and where are you strumming at? I usually use my forefinger (sometimes my thumb) and strum at or about the 16th-18th fret.

Some people say that music expresses what is in the musician's soul. Its not a bad thing. Go with it. Develop it.

ummmm well to answer all the above, I have been 'playing' for a week (lol impatient) I used to play violin so I'm not used to all this strumming business! I've been using my forefinger and sometimes thumb to strum, In regard to music what is expressing whats in a musicians soul LOLOL! That could very much be true! I am loud and all over the place.

Honestly it sounds like Jack Black playing the ukulele!

Thanks for your answers I figure practice makes perfect!

I'll let you know how it's coming along!

x x

(also, loving this forum, I've been lurking on here since I got my uke!)

My strumming sounds all loud and mad and when I watch videos etc everyone elses seems all lovely and calm and 'clean'. I don't know if this is because of me (maybe heavy handed maybe lacking rhythm) OR because of my ukulele?