Price vs Quality

mangorockfish

Reaction score
I have contracted a case of UAS and am wanting some advice on how you determine how much to spend. I have been looking at an Ohana spruce/maple tenor that will sell for around 5 big ones. Now, would I be better off spending a little more and get a nice Pono, or would I be better off in the long run spending a little more than what the Pono costs and get a K brand? I don't know how to determine where the price = quality point is. Please give me your opinions.:confused:

How much money do you have in the bank? :D

I am by no means a ukulele expert, but I think it just depends what you WANT.

My husband LOVES his flea, he's so happy he bought it, it cost $207.
I LOVE my Kiwaya KTS-4, it cost $450.

If you're looking for a good quality uke without the expertise, I suggest you find a couple of specific ukes in your price range and try to find as much information as possible. Watch YouTube videos, read reviews, and of course ask the boards. I was stuck between the Martin SO ($339) and the Kiwaya KTS-4 (450), but after researching it and finding DIRECT COMPARISON reviews, where they showed you various parts of both, I went for the Kiwaya.

But ultimately a lot of it will be preference. Some people wouldn't want my uke because it's not koa, but mahogany is fine for me. :D