holding the uke?

pipi

Reaction score
I just can't figure out how to hold me ukulele. I've watched videos on youtube and looked at the dvd it came with but i just can't get it righ. It always seems to slip down as i change chords and just feels generally uncomfortable. Also how straight do you hold it? I heard somewhere that it should be practically vertical and in other places it should be in paralell to the floor. Any help, please?

I'm struggling with the same problem and I've been playing for about 5 months. I have a concert and I am in fact finding it easier now to hold it horizontallyl with my bicep cushioning it and having my arm across the uke horizontally while strumming. It's taking a long time to get used to it but it's slowly progressing.

Last edited:
Hold it however is comfortable to you. Just try to cradle it in the crook of your arm, gently pressing as little of the back as possible to your chest. Strum wherever your hand lands. Some folks here have lots of difficulty doing that so you're not alone - and their solution is generally a uke thong.

I hold mine at an angle 45ish degrees or so. I just hold it against my body with light pressure using my right forearm and strumming the strings in the middle between nut and saddle just a tad above where the neck meets the body, don't try and strum over the sound hole unless you have a tenor. I hold the neck between thumb and index finger base knuckle of left hand.

Is your last name Kaula by any chance? :cool:

I heard the best sound comes from holding it against the chest at 180 degrees. I barely squeeze the end with my elbow.

Sometimes I let it sit on my lap, but that's when I'm not as energized.

Ok cool thanks for the help! I'll try out a few of those things and see what suits...practise makes perfect i spose!

Is your last name Kaula by any chance? :cool:
me? no, not even close!:p Sorry

Why do you say that? Is it because it is bigger?