Myrtle & ???

Steiner

Reaction score
Would Oregon Myrtle back and sides go better with a Spruce or Cedar top?

Thanks

I'm going to try and build one. I have help from someone with woodworking experience, but I'm basically a novice.

My dream uke is Oregon myrtle with Port Orford cedar top, Oregon claro walnut neck and binding, Oregon maple fretboard and bridge...I actually have some of the parts - the myrtle and the Port Orford cedar. Just need someone to build it, because I've realized I don't have the talent to do it myself...

Steiner, I would say go for whatever you think looks better. In the end, I don't think any tone differences will be noticeable.

Steiner, I would say go for whatever you think looks better. In the end, I don't think any tone differences will be noticeable.

If different Spruces have tonal differences, a WRC top will definitely have tonal differences from a Spruce top.

Personally, the Myrtle Spruces I've built have been tonally and sonically great.

Personally, I don't really like working with WRC, so my preference as a builder would lean towards Spruce. However, one of my WRC topped Koa B/S sounds almost Martinish, in a good way.

Just my $.02 - Aaron

That all Oregon uke would be a winner if build well. All those woods are just wonderful.
Rick

I'll send you the wood I have and let you build it for me...as a favor to you, of course... :biglaugh:

I probably shouldn't say anything because my experience is practically non-existant but I just built a myrtle/spruce concert uke. I know that how one is built makes more difference to the sound than what it's built from but this myrtle/spruce concert is really "bright" sounding. After playing it for a while anything else I play sounds almost muted. The cedar might tone that down a notch.

Either wood is fine. Watch out for cedar though....it dents very easily.
Be sure to keep your bench clean or any spec of dust will dent the top. Keep your clothes iron handy to stem them out