Buying 3rd ukulele, looking for advice.

AverseBliss

Reaction score
I'm a new comer to this forum, just to give some background, I started playing ukulele in September 2009, after buying a Mahalo soprano from a local music shop. I quickly got the uke bug, and proceeded to get a Lanikai LU-21T tenor ukulele for this Christmas just gone. After playing my Lanikai, I now find it hard to play on my Mahalo, since it just feels cheap, I know my Lanikai isn't a top quality uke, but I do feel that it is significantly better than my Mahalo. As such I am missing playing a smaller ukulele, and would like to get a decent quality solid wood (or at least solid top) soprano or concert. I am in England, so am buying from "The Southern Ukulele" store on eBay, as I have not heard a bad thing about them. I have narrowed down my choices to the Ohana SK25-Z, Ohana SK25, and the Ohana CK20-S. I was wondering if anybody had any experience of these ukuleles or could recommend any at around the same price which would be good? (under £130/$210)
Thanks very much in advanced!

Last edited:
Unsolicited advice other than answering your question. Upgrade the strings on your Mahalo, don't stop giving it love.

Without looking at it myself, is the SK25-Z zebrawood? I'm not convinced of zebrawood's quality of tone, though it's beautiful.

If I end up getting a concert I think I will upgrade the strings on my Mahalo, so that I have a soprano to play, though if I buy a soprano I think my Mahalo will have been replaced, but will still hold a dear place in my heart/room as my first Ukulele.
The SK25-Z is zebrawood, I was originally drawn in by its looks, however it is the same price as the solid mahogany SK25, so maybe tone wise that would be better. Thanks for the help!

I got an Ohana CK-35GS from Souther Ukulele Store for Christmas and it's an incredible instrument. Fits in the lower end of your budget too at 150 pounds!

BUY ONEEEEE!