Experienced String Musician

opal_almand24

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I've got a delima(however thats spelled). I am an experienced string musician. And I recently picked up this strong desire to play the ukulele. BUT! I dont know which one to buy. I dont want to spend a fortune seeing as how I'm also a college student...but I dont want something that will fall apart with a strum. I play guitar and violin as well as the drums. So I play moderately hard. If there is someone who can help me, that would be wonderful. Thanks.

I recently switch to ukulele after many years as a guitar player. I got a Lanikai LU21T, great tone for the price, tuners are solid as a rock once the strings settle and the intonation was spot on. Really is a fine instrument.

The tenor size made the switch from guitar very easy! Set me back about 100 euro but was worth every penny.

Thanks. I've been looking at different websites that sell ukuleles and this seems to be a popular one: Lanikai HU-212 Standard Ukulele . What do you think?

Oh and a few more questions. Should I buy new strings for it? If so, what kind? And do you use a pick to strum it?

Last edited:
I'm still new to the uke myself so I can't really answer all your questions but here it goes...

The HU-212, haven't a clue! Only played the LU21T!

New strings is a good idea, they will improve the tone ten fold on lower end ukuleles. I strung mine with a set of Aprilla's and it sounds great!

As for pick vs fingerstyle? Just like the guitar its down to preference, on guitars I like picks but with ukes I'm always playing fingerstyle.. Experiment and see which you like!