Newbie in over my head?

Reaction score
Hello! I got a ukulele for my birthday last February. I started playing it...oh, about a few weeks ago.

Here's the thing: I can kind of play "You and I" by Ingrid Michaelson. I'm having a trouble keeping a steady tempo, and I can't play with a metronome or with the song easily. I can play all the chords, but the transitions still need a little work.

And here's the OTHER thing: I want to learn to sing along to it. It turns out I'm not as good a multi-tasker as I thought... I'm having a lot of issues.

Any advice/help/magic words? Thank you!

Three words you will often hear:

Practice, practice, practice. Just keep it up and you will see improvement in no time. Something that helps, is recording a video of yourself and watching it.

Welcome to UU, too. :)

Naw, you're in over yer head. Give it up. Send me your uke for safe keeping.

OK, maybe not. Since you've only just begun playing, give yourself some time. Set a goal or two. Search the forum for some 2-chord songs to practice timing and singing with. Jeez, what else were you going to do with all that time anyway? Might as well get good at the ukulele.

Thanks for the advice and welcome, Melissa! :)

Haha, okay, Harold, I can tell we're going to get along really well. :) As for not playing it for a while, I just get distracted easily... It's a blessing and a curse.

Practice is overrated. There are other things you can do other than practice. One trick to timing is having an internal tempo. Somewhere in the universe must exist at 120bpm and you can create that place. Just set your metronome at 120bpm and then sit down and watch the History Channel until you fall asleep. Everynight for the next year, set your metronome to 120bpm and fall asleep watching the History channel. Soon, you will develop a subconscious knowledge of 120bpm.